UMO Graduate Nominated as Teacher of the Year

UMO Graduate Nominated as Teacher of the Year


MOUNT OLIVE-  University of Mount Olive May graduate Tiffany Murray of Tarboro was nominated for the 2016 Outstanding Student Teacher of the Year in North Carolina.  This award is made possible by the North Carolina Association for Colleges and Teacher Educators (NC-ACTE).  Each year members of the NC-ACTE nominates potential candidates for the award.

To be selected for this high honor, candidates must be nominated by a professor at their home college or university, have a minimum GPA of 3.25, complete a coversheet signed by the dean, recommendation letters from three university faculty members and members of the school where the student taught, along with a student teacher narrative.

Nominees will meet at the annual fall NC-ACTE meeting where the winner will be announced.  At this time guests will hear remarks by the President of NC-ACTE.  A gift and a plaque will be provided for the winner.

Murray completed her time as a student teacher at the Northeast Regional School of Biotechnology and Agriscience (NERSBA) in Jamesville.  Murray worked at NERSBA in the spring of 2016, teaching Animal Science I and II.

“Receiving this nomination lets me know that I made a difference,” she said.  “This is my goal as a teacher. I want to make a difference in my students’ lives and help motivate them to their full potential. This nomination has motivated me to continue pushing forward and reaching my goals. I am truly blessed to have had such a great student teaching experience.”


The University of Mount Olive is a private institution rooted in the liberal arts tradition with defining Christian values. The University, sponsored by the Convention of Original Free Will Baptists, has locations in Mount Olive, New Bern, Wilmington, Seymour Johnson Air Force Base, Research Triangle Park, Washington, Jacksonville, and in Smithfield at Johnston Community College.  For more information, visit

Pictured (l-r):  Division Chair of Agriculture Dr. Sandy Maddox, Assistant Professor of Agriculture Amy Johnson, Tiffany Murray, and Assistant Professor of Agriculture Stephen Edwards.