Duplin County Students Receive Awards at MOC

MOUNT OLIVE- Several Duplin County residents were recognized for their achievements at University of Mount Olive’s Annual Awards Ceremony.  Among those receiving awards were:

Nancy Galeno of Wallace received the Art and Visual Communication Award.  Galeno, the daughter of Catalina Galeno, is a senior visual communications major.  The Art and Visual Communication Award is given to the senior student who best exemplifies the ideals of a successful art or visual communication major by demonstration discipline, creativity, and integrity.

Madelon D. Smith of Pink Hill was named the University of Mount Olive at Mount Olive Management Student of the Year.  Smith, the daughter of Tammie and DeLeon Smith, is a senior business administration business management major.

Ruby Quintanilla of Faison received the Louise Edgerton Preparatory Senior Teacher Excellence Award.  Quintanilla, the daughter of Juan Martin Quintanilla and Teresa Dela Luz Quintanilla, is a senior English/math education major.  The Louise Edgerton Preparatory Senior Teacher Award is a $1000 cash award given in memory of Louise Edgerton to honor her 18 years of service as a trustee of University of Mount Olive, her 40 years as a public teacher, and her outstanding Christian life.  The award, given by Ms. Edgerton’s cousin, Dr. Thomas R. Morris, is presented to an education major selected by the Teacher Education Committee for academic excellence and promise as a prospective teacher.

Sharri Faison of Faison received the Outstanding Research Award in the Department of Science and Mathematics.  Faison, the daughter of Linda Faison, is a senior biology major.  The award is given to the best research/presentation by a senior as judged by faculty and/or peers at a local, state, or regional meeting.

Crandall Fountain of Chinquapin received the Free Will Baptist Ministerial Award.  Fountain, a sophomore religion major is the son of Laura and Edward Fountain.  The Free Will Baptist Ministerial Award is a scholarship given by the North Carolina Ministerial Association of Original Free Will Baptists to an outstanding returning Free Will Baptist student who has demonstrated potential for excellence in the Christian ministry. The student is selected by a committee designated by the Ministerial Association.

Ken Williams of Beulaville received the Reverend M. L. Johnson Award for Excellence in Science.  Williams, a senior environmental science major with minor in anthropology, is the son of Debra Williams and Ronnie Williams.  The Reverend M. L. Johnson Award for Excellence in Science is a scholarship given to an outstanding returning science major who has demonstrated excellence in the physical sciences selected by the Department of Science and Mathematics. This award is given by Dr. Thomas R. Morris, retired optometrist of Wilmington, North Carolina, because of his desire to foster academic excellence in the physical sciences and in appreciation of his former pastor.

University of Mount Olive is a private institution rooted in the liberal arts tradition with defining Christian values. The College, sponsored by the Convention of Original Free Will Baptists, has locations in Mount Olive, New Bern, Wilmington, Goldsboro, Jacksonville, Research Triangle Park and Washington.  For more information, visit www.moc.edu.