Duplin County Students Receive Awards

MOUNT OLIVE – Two Duplin County students were recognized for their achievements at The University of Mount Olive’s Annual Awards Ceremony.  Among those receiving awards were:

Tia Pearsall of Faison received the The Jan Brewer Scholarship Award. Pearsall is a junior human resource management major.  The Jan Brewer Scholarship Award, given in memory of Janet Ruth Brewer (1959—1981), class of 1979, is made possible by an endowment established in Ms. Brewer’s honor in April 1980 by her classmates and friends.  Ms. Brewer, a member of Dublin Grove Free Will Baptist Church, though born with Cystic Fibrosis, achieved her goal of earning a college degree when she received an Associate in Science degree from The University of Mount Olive.  This award is given to a student who is successfully overcoming adversity in pursuit of a college education.  The Jan Brewer Scholarship is payable on future educational expenses at University of Mount Olive.

David  Grady of Albertson received the Agribusiness Student of the Year. Grady is a senior agribusiness major.  The Agribusiness Student of the Year is awarded to a senior with a minimum GPA of 3.0.  The student must demonstrate a resume capturing leadership qualities, community contributions and other interest.  The award is determined by faculty from the Tillman School of Business.

The University of Mount Olive is a private institution rooted in the liberal arts tradition with defining Christian values. The University, sponsored by the Convention of Original Free Will Baptists, has locations in Mount Olive, New Bern, Wilmington, Seymour Johnson Air Force Base, Research Triangle Park, Washington, Jacksonville, and in Smithfield at Johnston Community College.  For more information, visit old.umo.edu.