Wayne County Students Receive Awards at Mount Olive College

MOUNT OLIVE- Several Wayne County students were recognized for their achievements at University of Mount Olive’s Annual Awards Ceremony.  Among those receiving awards were:

Angela Johnson (left) of Mount Olive and Cheryl Eppard (right) of Goldsboro each received the North Carolina Association of CPAs Scholarship.  Johnson, a senior accounting major, is the daughter of Ronald and Jo Johnson.  Eppard, a senior accounting major, is married to Troy Eppard.  The North Carolina Association of CPAs Scholarship is sponsored by the Coastal Plains Chapter of the North Carolina Association of CPAs and awarded to an outstanding rising senior accounting student selected by the University of Mount Olive accounting faculty.

Carrie Duprey (left) of Mount Olive and Kenny Lee of Mount Olive each received the Handy Mart Business Scholarship.  Duprey is a sophomore business administration major.  Lee, a sophomore accounting major, is the son of Kendall and Pam Lee.  The Handy Mart Business Scholarship is sponsored by E. J. and Judson Pope who select two rising juniors majoring in business administration who best exhibit excellence in academics, college and community service and civic responsibility.

Erica Johnson (right), formerly from New York, received the Outstanding Student of the Year Award in History and Social Studies Award.  Johnson, a junior education major, is married to Nathaniel Johnson.  They live in Goldsboro with their daughter, Marielle Johnson. The Outstanding Student of the Year Award in History and Social Studies is given to a student who has shown excellence in the field of historical studies as demonstrated by a superior grade point average, knowledge of facts and events, historiography, research, and the ability to combine those areas into well written and argued papers for presentation and possible publication.

Genna Chriscoe (left)of Goldsboro received the Human Resources Management Student of the Year Award (SJAFB).  Chriscoe, a senior business administration: human resource management major, is the daughter of Emily Lawrence and James Chriscoe.

Josh Rodriguez (right) of Dudley received the Charles B. and Margenetta A. Hinnant Music Scholarship.  Rodriguez, a sophomore music education major, is the son of Gabriel Rodriguez and Shelia Vaca.  The Charles B. and Margenette A. Hinnant Music Scholarship is given in memory of both Margenette A. Hinnant and Charles B. Hinnant, a former trustee of University of Mount Olive. The recipient, a music major who exhibits exceptional talent, is chosen by the music faculty.

Katie Doerr (left)of Goldsboro received the William L. Warren Instrumental Scholarship.  Doerr is a freshman music education major.  The William L. Warren Instrumental Scholarship was begun in 1996 by Mrs. Kathleen B. Warren in memory of her husband, William L. Warren, and is given to a student for outstanding instrumental music accomplishment. The recipient is selected by the music faculty.

Kelli Kosuda (right) of Goldsboro received several awards including the Outstanding Student Research Award, the Senior Citizenship Cup Award, and the W. Burkette Raper Ministerial Student Award.  Kosuda was also recognized as an Honors program graduate.  Kosuda, a senior religion major, is the daughter of Joseph and Anne Kosuda.  The Senior Citizenship Cup is presented by the Student Development Office to the graduating senior who has evidenced the most outstanding qualities of citizenship during his/her academic career at University of Mount Olive. The recipient of this award is selected by a committee of faculty, student, and staff representatives.  The W. Burkette Raper Ministerial Student Award is given to an outstanding graduating ministerial student on the basis of academic excellence and evidence of commitment to the Christian ministry. This award is given by Dr. Thomas R. Morris of Wilmington, North Carolina, because of his desire to advance the educational and spiritual quality of persons entering the Christian ministry. He has chosen to name this award in honor of Dr. W. Burkette Raper, president of University of Mount Olive from 1954-1995.

Mark Lee (left) of Goldsboro received the Computer Information Systems Outstanding Student of the Year Award.  Lee, a senior computer information systems majors, is married to Katrina Lee.  They have one son, Matthew.

Keith Davis (right) of Goldsboro received the Management Student of the Year (SJAFB).  Davis, a senior business management major is the son of Charles and Elouise Davis.

Samantha Otellio (below left) of Dudley received the Art and Visual Communication Award and theElrod Art Award.  Otellio, a senior art major, is the daughter of Greg and Peggy Otellio.

The Art and Visual Communication Award is given to the senior student who best exemplifies the ideals of a successful art or visual communication major by demonstrating discipline, creativity and integrity.  The Elrod Art Award is a scholarship given in honor of Mr. and Mrs. Albert Elrod, parents of a 2005 graduate of the Art Department. The award is given to a fine art or visual communications major who has demonstrated academic excellence, professional service, and personal growth as determined by the art department faculty. A $100.00 cash award was given.

Victoria Marcheski (left) of Goldsboro received the Claude Hunter Moore History Award.  Marcheski, a senior history major, is married to Robert Marcheski.  They have two children, Scotty and Lauchlan.  The Claude Hunter Moore History Award is a scholarship in memory of Claude Hunter Moore (1916-1994), Professor Emeritus of History, who taught history at University of Mount Olive from 1969-1981. The award is given to a returning history major selected by the history faculty as showing the most promise in the field.

William Tierney (right)  of Mount Olive received the Best Literature Student Award.  Tierney, a senior English major, is the son of William Charles and Betsy Hart Tierney.  The Best Literature Student Award is a $100 cash award from Sigma Tau Delta presented to the best literature student chosen by language and literature faculty.

Latisha Cowan (left) of Goldsboro received the Outstanding Psychology Major Award.  Cowan, a senior psychology major, is married to Darryl Cowan Sr.

University of Mount Olive is a private institution rooted in the liberal arts tradition with defining Christian values. The College, sponsored by the Convention of Original Free Will Baptists, has locations in Mount Olive, New Bern, Wilmington, Goldsboro, Research Triangle Park, Washington and Jacksonville.  For more information, visit www.moc.edu.